Developing Eight Countries (D8)

Objectives and guiding principles:

“Developing Eight” (D-8) is an arrangement for development cooperation among Bangladesh, Egypt, Indonesia, Iran, Malaysia, Nigeria, Pakistan and Turkey.


Following the “Conference on Cooperation for Development”, on October 22, 1996, and after a series of preparatory meetings, the establishment of D-8 was announced officially by the Summit of Heads of State/Government in Istanbul, on June 15,1997 (Istanbul Declaration).

The objectives of D-8 are to improve developing countries’ positions in the world economy, diversify and create new opportunities in trade relations, enhance participation in decision-making at the international level, and provide better standards of living.


D-8 is a global arrangement rather than a regional one, as the composition of founding members reflects. Membership will be open to other developing countries subscribing to the goals, objectives, and principles of the group, sharing common bonds.


D-8 is a forum with no adverse impact on bilateral and multilateral commitments of the member countries, emanating from their membership to regional and international organisations.


Principal organs

The principal organs of D-8 are the Summit, the Council, and the Commission.


The Summit, which is the supreme organ of D-8 is composed of the Heads of State/Government of member states. It is convened once every two years.


The Council is composed of the Ministers in charge of Foreign Affairs of member states. It is the political decision making organ of D-8, and acts as a forum for thorough and comprehensive consideration of the issues.


The Commission is the executive organ of D-8. It is composed of senior officials appointed by their respective governments. Each Commissioner is responsible for national coordination in his/her respective country.


Areas of cooperation

At the outset, ten sectors have been identified for cooperation and project development. They are: trade; industry; telecommunications and information; finance, banking and privatization; rural development; science and technology; poverty alleviation and human resources development; agriculture; energy; environment; and health. On the basis of a division of labour for the coordination of D-8 activities, each sector is assigned to a member country.


D-8 Web Site ( )

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.